Myles Harrington

Thai Good Times to Bangkok Blues

In Thailand on December 19, 2010 at 8:41 am

The Union of Myanmar thankfully let us back out into Thailand and we headed straight to Chiang Mai for my last night with Adam. We did well on our last night hitting three clubs throughout the city using my previous knowledge that I gained three months ago to full advantage.

Been there and got the t-shirt

Firstly we tried to go and find Nogh, the gay guy who took me out on my birthday to Mandalay Club. Sadly for us he had left The Queen Vic pub job to work for the Tourism Authority of Thailand, a step up he said he wanted. I was pleased for him to discover this, but disappointed we wouldn’t have our gay guide for assistance. Adam was especially disappointed.

Instead we took a Chiang Mai pub crawl into our own hands starting off at The North Gate Jazz Collective for a couple of cocktails, moving on to Hot Shots where the band publicly took the piss out of us for drinking the cheapest whisky on the menu. Next up was Mandalay with some new Thai friends we met in Hot Shots, who very kindly drove us there and we skipped on by the entrance, avoiding the 300 baht fee. Bored of camp men and their queens we missioned it all the way to the outdoor reggae bar that I frequented on many occasions on my last visit to Thaland’s former capital.

It seems to be a running occurrence that when I drink the cheapest whisky I spend the whole next day in bed and luckily I only had to get up so I could get the night bus to Bangkok. I had two seats to myself on the half empty coach so I could spread out and get a relatively good night’s sleep. I got chatting to a retired Iranian school teacher who was sat opposite me and we discussed travelling and family. I then asked him the question that obviously sprang to my mind when he said he was from Iran; “What so you think of Mr Ahmadinejad?”, to that he simply replied laughing and grabbing my arm “I think it’s best we don’t talk about politics”…mysterious.

I’d arranged to meet Venetia, a girl I met in Luang Prabang, on Khaosan Road as she was flying out on the same day as me. We spent the day wandering aimlessly around the whole of Bangkok and saw a few of the generic tourist sites including the very unimpressive big swing. The best part of the day though was when we stumbled across a free rock gig at an all girls school. The teachers thought nothing of it as we walked into the school grounds and started rocking out to the band Sweet Mullet. We had our photo taken so many times by the local paps that the rocking teachers actually liked us being there. If we’d done that in the UK the police would have been summoned quicker than you could do a head bang.

The school girls rocking out to Sweet Mullet

In the evening, strolling down Khaosan I bumped into Arjen and Chris, two of the Dutch guys I’d been persuaded to stay in Vang Vieng with. Venetia and I went and got a free fish massage that attacked my crusty mosquito bites to shreds and we went back to meet the rest of the Dutch crew, with ever so slightly softer feet, for a couple of beers in the very expensive rooftop bar.

I had one last day to waste in Bangkok before my midnight flight so I decided just to try to find a peaceful spot in the capital and read my book. That’s when a guy named Alex came up to me along the side of one of Bangkok’s massive inroads and asked for directions. We got chatting as we walked towards the King’s Palace and I ended up spending the day with him ticking off my previously unseen  tourist spots including the standing Buddha and the sitting Buddha.

The standing Buddha - tick

The sitting Buddha - done

As I was driven towards the airport that night, it dawned on me that I only had two weeks of my trip left. A depressing thought considering at the start it seemed like I had forever. Oh well, I suppose Christmas on a tropical island won’t be too bad.

5k remaining: £108.74

  1. […] this article: Thai Goods Times to Bangkok Blues « The 5k Challenge Posted in: Bangkok ADD […]

Leave a Reply

