Myles Harrington

The Rishikesh Rumble

In India on April 14, 2010 at 8:10 am

All was going well a I sat down to eat Mama’s delicious thali last night. I’d got talking to a bunch of Swedish people over dinner who were planing on heading off to Haridwar today for the mad and massive Kumbh Mela festival. I decided on a whim that I would go with them and we had to be up at 5am to make sure we could get there.

An early night was required so at 9am I tucked myself in and tried to drift off.  One hour passed, then two and three and all the time I didn’t have a Delhi belly, more what i now have coined the Rishikesh rumble. My stomach was bloated and gurgling and I didn’t have any antacids to heal my pain. Big mistake. Come about midnight I got ‘the rush’ sprinted to the toilet and proceeded to yack my guts up. Mama’s thali didn’t taste so good this time.

Eventually I did managed to get some very broken sleep and luckily wasn’t sick again so decided to tackle the day head on and arrived at the Swede’s guest house as arranged at 4.55. The first of my co-pilgrims greeted me and he’d been up all night being sick too. I thought it was going to be a pandemic and the day would be called off but he was the only one that was ill so was staying behind. We started off walking towards the town and all of a sudden I got ‘the rush’ again and spewed down the hillside like a volcano erupting curried lava. Still, at least the cows will have a tasty treat today. I went back to bed and thankfully haven’t been sick again…yet.

Red marks the spot for a tasty roadside meal for the cows

  1. Blogging about the shits. Oh dear. Ok, well I know it’s vomit but blogging about the shits sounds funnier.

  2. Mylo, smooth work son! This is of course a direct result of you eradicating meat from your diet over the last ten years (save for for burgers when you’re hungover). Your stomach has become weak – you need to get yourself down to those dodgy food stalls down the side streets and break your stomach in.

    You’re welcome for the tip…

    Not much going on back here – Gorkana lost 5 – 0 to Grayling last night (although none of the big guns were playing). Caught up with Macey last night and she got drunk and thought we should come and see you in Goa..What do you reckon? Could be sick in the face. Check yourself. R

Leave a Reply

